Ash mark new album announcement with ‘Buzzkill’


Ash have marked the announcement of their forthcoming album, ‘Islands’, by dropping track ‘Buzzkill’ – and you can listen to it now on the Shoot Music – New Releases Playlist.

Twenty-five years on from their emergence as teenagers on Belfast’s DIY scene, Ash return with another irrepressible track – which is also a new addition to the Fantasy Premier League playlist – that more than holds its own in what is a seemingly already over-stocked catalogue of hits.

Written by the band’s singer/ guitarist Tim Wheeler, ‘Buzzkill’ is a dizzying slice of upbeat pop nous coupled with The Undertones’ Damien O’Neill and Mickey Bradley guesting on backing vocals – another wave of typical Ash ebullience that is sure to strike a chord with fans, young and old.

Returning to Infectious Music, where they enjoyed number ones with ‘1977‘ (1996) and ‘Free All Angels‘ (2001), ‘Islands’ will be their first album since 2015’s ‘Kablammo!‘.

The band – Wheeler, Mark Hamilton and Rick McMurray – will release ‘Islands’ on May 18 – the week before they appear at the BBC’s Biggest Weekend festival on their home turf of Belfast.


Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms. Give the playlist a spin, and don’t forget to follow us on Spotify and Deezer.