British Basketball Now On The BBC

0
864
emiratesarenabbltrophyfinal

With basketball quickly growing in popularity as a truly global sport (the 2nd most popular sport worldwide), fans can now look beyond the American National Basketball Association (NBA) for a local fix. Though the Association remains the best professional basketball league in the world, quality leagues have been established across the globe. The UK itself is fortunate to host the British Basketball League (BBL) and Women’s British Basketball League (WBBL), as well as a brand new summer league in development from Premier League Basketball (PLB). The NBA has taken several steps in expansion here, holding both exhibition and league games regularly in the UK.

So as the sport continues to grow in the UK, we welcome the news that the BBC will now show 32 BBL and WBBL games live on the BBC Sport website and app this season.

As well as online, all three BBL and WBBL finals days – the Cup (15 January), the Trophy (19 March) and the Play-off finals (14 May) – will also be shown on-demand. The website and app will broadcast all the league matches in addition to the cup finals. Find out more at the BBC site here, with the full schedule of games below.

With both the UK and American leagues heating up, get involved with this fantastic sport by streaming our Basketball Sport Playlist, featuring arena anthems and iconic sounds. Stream and follow the basketball playlist here.

Live BBL/WBBL BBC games 2016/2017

Date Time Competition Home team Away team
Fri 16 Dec 19:30 BBL Sheffield Sharks v Leeds Force
Fri 30 Dec 19:30 BBL Glasgow Rocks v Cheshire Phoenix
Sun 15 Jan 12:00 WBBL Cup Final TBC v TBC
Sun 15 Jan 15:30 BBL Cup Final TBC v TBC
Fri 20 Jan 19:30 BBL Newcastle Eagles v Worcester Wolves
Fri 27 Jan 17:00 WBBL Barking Abbey v Oaklands Wolves
Fri 27 Jan 19:30 BBL London Lions v Bristol Flyers
Fri 10 Feb 19:30 BBL Worcester Wolves Manchester Giants
Fri 17 Feb 17:00 WBBL Sevenoaks Suns v Cardiff Met Archers
Fri 17 Feb 19:30 BBL Surrey Scorchers v Plymouth Raiders
Fri 3 Mar 19:30 BBL Cheshire Phoenix v Leeds Force
Fri 10 Mar 19:30 BBL Manchester Giants v Surrey Scorchers
Sun 19 Mar 12:00 WBBL Trophy Final TBC v TBC
Sun 19 Mar 15:00 BBL Trophy Final TBC v TBC
Fri 24 Mar 19:30 BBL Plymouth Raiders v Bristol Flyers
Fri 31 Mar 17:00 WBBL Sheffield Hatters v Nottingham Wildcats
Fri 31 Mar 19:30 BBL Sheffield Sharks v Glasgow Rocks
Fri 7 Apr TBC TBC TBC v TBC
Fri 14 Apr TBC TBC TBC v TBC
Fri 21 Apr TBC TBC TBC v TBC
Sun 14 May 14:15 WBBL Play-Off Final TBC v TBC
Sun 14 May 16:30 BBL Play-Off Final TBC v TBC


Sport Playlists
 bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on sharable platforms. Listen now, and don’t forget to follow this playlist on Spotify and Deezer.