The Darkness Unveil Daring New Single ‘Solid Gold’


The Darkness have today released their expletive-drenched new single ‘Solid Gold’ via Cooking Vinyl – and you can listen to it now on the Shoot Music – New Releases Playlist.

An absolute monster of a rock song, ‘Solid Gold’, which follows the release of the glorious, hard-rockin’, autobiographical lead single ‘All The Pretty Girls’ – both from the band’s forthcoming album ‘Pinewood Smile’ – takes no prisoners whatsoever, taking direct aim at the music industry.

‘Pinewood Smile’ finds The Darkness on electrifying form, delivering some of the most sharp-witted, infectious, humorous and downright brilliant songs of their career. The album is also the first to feature the drumming and vocal talents of new band member Rufus Tiger Taylor, son of Queen legend Roger Taylor, who shares vocal duties with Justin Hawkins on two of the tracks.

Written in Putney, recorded in Cornwall and produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Adrian Bushby (Foo Fighters, Muse), the compositions have all the crucial elements of classic Darkness fare, but with added layers for the ears to peel away at… like a sonic onion but a lot tastier.

To celebrate the release of ‘Pinewood Smile’, The Darkness will be touring extensively at the end of this year playing 17 dates in the UK throughout November and December including a headline show at London’s Hammersmith Eventim Apollo on December 10th. The shows are part of a wider European tour.


The Darkness, whose debut ‘Permission to Land’ album hit the top of the UK album charts in 2003, are Justin Hawkins (vocals & guitar), Dan Hawkins (guitar), Frankie Poullain (bass) and Rufus Tiger Taylor (drums)


Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms. Give the playlists a spin, and don’t forget to follow us on Spotify and Deezer.