Ghostpoet Unveils ‘Freakshow’ From ‘Dark Days + Canapés’


Ghostpoet – a.k.a. Obaro Ejimiwe – has announced details of a brand single, ‘Freakshow’, – and it’s available to listen to now on the Shoot Music – New Releases Playlist.

Following the announcement of his upcoming fourth album ‘Dark Days + Canapés’, and the unveiling of the debut track ‘Immigrant Boogie’, the brooding post-punk guitar lines in ‘Freakshow’ provide the menacing landscape for provocative lyrics that create one of many standout moments on Ghostpoet’s album.

The video, shot between China and the UK, depicts a nightmarish pre-apocalyptic world, in which pleasure seekers and average humans alike search for relief from their synthetic reality, and is the second (following ‘Immigrant Boogie’) in a dystopian series directed by Zhang + Knight.

Ghostpoet says: “Freakshow is a kind of commentary on modern consumerism – it sums up my general sense of unease in the way we buy our emotions these days, and the unstoppable cash-driven churn we seem to be caught up in as a society.”

As well as his forthcoming album, Ghostpoet has confirmed a full UK and Ireland tour later this year, which includes dates in Dublin, Manchester, Liverpool, London, Glasgow and more.

‘Dark Days + Canapés’ by Ghostpoet is released though Play It Again Sam and available digitally, and on ltd vinyl, vinyl and CD on 18th August.


Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms. Give the playlist a spin, and don’t forget to follow us on Spotify and Deezer.