South London post-punks Shame return with ‘Alphabet’ single


Shame have announced their much-anticipated return, via the frenetic, storming new single ‘Alphabet’.

It marks their first new music since the release of their critically acclaimed debut album Songs of Praise in 2018 via Dead Oceans.

On the track, produced by James Ford, frontman Charlie Steen explains, “Alphabet is a direct question, to the audience and the performer, on whether any of this will ever be enough to reach satisfaction. At the time of writing it, I was experiencing a series of surreal dreams where a manic subconscious was bleeding out of me and seeping into the lyrics. All the unsettling and distressing imagery I faced in my sleep have taken on their own form in the video”

Listen to ‘Alphabet’ by Shame on the Official F1 Tracks playlist on Spotify.

Shame’s return, at under three minutes long, is a burst of energy that blazes bright and fast. It’s a restless and relentless track that feels familiar yet bigger and bolder than anything the band have done before, signalling the arrival of a new era of the band.

The South London post-punk outfit features vocalist Charlie, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist Josh Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes. The quintet met in school and formed the band in 2014 while still in their teens.

With consistently raucous energy and a frontman who knew how to turn the quietest of rooms into stage diving pits of glory, word spread that they were the most exciting live band the UK had to offer.

The band signed to Dead Oceans in 2017 and quickly recorded their debut at Rockfield, the same studio as Oasis’ Definitely Maybe. The result was Songs of Praise, which on the day of release in early 2018 saw the band on The Guardian’s front page lauded as the leaders of a new wave of guitar music.

Shame TwitterFacebook | Instagram

Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms.