Shame unveil ‘Water in the Well’ alongside new album announcement


Shame have today announced that their long-anticipated new album, Drunk Tank Pink, will be released on 15 Jan via Dead Oceans.

Alongside this, the band have shared a Pedro Takahashi directed video for brand new single ‘Water in the Well’ and announced brand new socially distanced UK tour dates for February 2021.

There are moments on Drunk Tank Pink where you almost have to reach for the sleeve to check this is the same band who made 2018’s Songs Of Praise. Such is the jump Shame have made from the riotous post-punk of their debut to the sprawling adventurism laid out in the bigger, bolder James Ford produced follow-up.

Listen to ‘Water in the Well’ by Shame on the Official F1 Tracks playlist on Spotify.

The genius of Drunk Tank Pink is how Steen’s lyrical themes dovetail with the music. Opener and previous single ‘Alphabet’ dissects the premise of performance over a siren call of nervous, jerking guitars, its chorus thrown out like a beer bottle across a mosh pit.

Nigel Hitter, meanwhile, turns the mundanity of routine into something spectacular via a disjointed jigsaw of syncopated rhythms and broken wristed punk funk. The result is an enormous expansion of shame’s sonic arsenal.

The South London post-punk outfit features vocalist Charlie, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist Josh Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes. The quintet met in school and formed the band in 2014 while still in their teens.

The band signed to Dead Oceans in 2017 and quickly recorded their debut at Rockfield, the same studio as Oasis’ Definitely Maybe. The result was Songs of Praise, which on the day of release in early 2018 saw the band on The Guardian’s front page lauded as the leaders of a new wave of guitar music.

Shame Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here