U2 share new album single ‘Get Out Of Your Own Way’


Island Records announce the new single from U2, Get Out Of Your Own Way‘ – the second to be taken from their upcoming 14th album, ‘Songs of Experience‘ – and you can listen to it now on the Shoot Music – New Releases Playlist.

Containing 13 new tracks, the first single from ‘Songs of Experience’, ‘Get Out Of Your Own Way’ – which is also a new addition to the Fantasy Premier League and Soccer AM: New Music playlists – follows previous track ‘You’re The Best Thing About Me’, while ‘The Blackout’ was previously released as a performance video in August.

Recorded in Dublin, New York and Los Angeles, ‘Songs of Experience’ was completed earlier this year with its subject matter influenced by Brendan Kennelly’s advice to Bono, to “…write as if you’re dead”. The result is a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart: family, friends, fans, himself.

‘Songs Of Experience’ is the companion release to 2014’s ‘Songs Of Innocence’, the two titles drawing inspiration from a collection of poems, Songs of Innocence and Experience, by the 18th century English mystic and poet William Blake.

Produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas, the album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band-members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evans.

U2, who are fishing off their 2017 Joshua Tree Tour, have also announced their next adventure: the 2018 North American leg of their Experience + Innocence Tour, which kicks off in May 2018.


Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms. Give the playlists a spin, and don’t forget to follow us on Spotify and Deezer.