Young States Share ‘Over It By Now’ Single


Four-piece alt rock band Young States are pleased to share their new single, ‘Over It By Now‘, taken from the forthcoming EP, ‘Past Truths | Present Lies‘ – and you can listen to it now on the Shoot Music – New Releases Playlist.

‘Past Truths | Present Lies’ – which is about personal growth and letting go of the things that have previously caused you pain – was produced by Drew Lawson (Roam/Summerlin/Me Vs Hero) and mastered by Grant Berry (All Time Low/Roam/Boston Manor) who gave the EP its Midas touch.

Formed in 2014, the band met at a music school in Norwich. Guitar and vocalist, Libby Irons was on a sound engineering course, the others on music performance courses. Guitarist, Amy got Young States together as she was bored of seeing male band after male band, and wanted to form an all-female group. She approached the others in the corridors of college after seeing them carrying their instruments.

With a love of Brand New, Kids In Glass Houses, Defeater and Mallory Knox, Young States quickly wrote and recorded their debut EP ‘Down to You‘ which saw them receive play from Scuzz TV, BBC Introducing and features in the pages of Kerrang!

After finally perfecting their sound, Young States are ready to go places they’ve never been to before. Anthemic, dark and melodic in equal measure, this is their strongest statement yet.


Young States are Georgia Leeder (Vocals/Bass), Libby Irons (Guitar/Vocals), Amy Jeffery (Guitar), Molly Draba-Mann (Drums).


Sport Playlists bring you the best sport music playlists, all in one place, easy to follow on SpotifyDeezer and other shareable platforms. Give the playlists a spin, and don’t forget to follow us on Spotify and Deezer.